Guide to Standards

The definition of a standard is ‘a required or agreed level of quality or attainment’.

Buyers need to know that what they are purchasing is ‘up to standard’. No surprise, you need to know that the ironmongery products you are fitting to your door are up to the relevant standard and suitable for the application – especially if the product is to go on a fire door.


Standards list out tests and classifications which a product must achieve to indicate performance, such as the product’s Durability (digit 2). For example, the maximum number of test cycles a hinge can be tested to is 200,00 under BS EN 1935. This would give the hinge Grade 7 performance for durability. This hinge would be suitable for medium, heavy and severe duty doors. Grade 3 hinges are tested to 10,00 test cycles, and Grade 4 hinges are tested to 25,000 test cycles, making them suitable for light duty windows, and light duty windows and doors respectively.

Other classifications include but are not limited to:


·         Category of use (digit 1)


·         Door mass (digit 3)


·         Suitability for use on fire/smoke doors (digit 4)


·         Safety (digit 5)


·         Corrosion resistance (digit 6)


·         Security (digit 7)


Products which perform a vital function in the performance of fire, smoke, and escape doors need to be CE and or UKCA marked.


This includes hinges, door closers, door co-ordinators, locks and latches, emergency exit and panic hardware.


This marking indicates that the product achieves at least the minimum requirements essential to the performance.


Here at SDS, our scheduling department are GAI qualified and will be able to recommend the best products for your project and application.


Migle Mickeviciute